Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Retained Players for IPL 2024: Full Squad Analysis

Just a few months have passed since the conclusion of IPL 2023, yet we find ourselves on the brink of the deadline for all 10 teams to announce their retained squads for IPL 2024. The IPL 2024 Mini Auction is scheduled for December or January, and the defending champions, CSK, are already busy identifying the players they wish to retain.

The biggest question looming over CSK is whether MS Dhoni will continue as captain in the upcoming edition. Fortunately, Dhoni has confirmed that he has no plans to retire and will be available for another IPL season.

With just a couple of months left until Chennai Super Kings officially unveil their retained squad for IPL 2024, let’s analyze their current squad and speculate on the potential retentions. As usual, we’ll categorize the analysis for clarity.


The retirement of Ambati Rayudu simplifies CSK’s decision regarding batters. Ruturaj Gaikwad, CSK’s star batter and opener, is a likely retention alongside MS Dhoni. The flamboyant Ajinkya Rahane, who impressed in 2023, is also expected to be retained, along with the promising young talents Subhranshu Senapati and Shaikh Rasheed.


For wicket-keepers, CSK has a straightforward choice. Captain and wicket-keeper MS Dhoni will surely be retained for IPL 2024. Devon Conway, a successful opener for CSK, should also find a place in the retained squad.

Spin All-rounders

CSK boasts several spin all-rounders, and retaining them should be a priority. Ravindra Jadeja, alongside overseas all-rounders Mitchell Santner and Moeen Ali, is expected to be retained. Young talents like Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma, and Nishant Sindhu may also secure their spots.

Pace All-rounders

The main dilemma for CSK in the pace all-rounders category is whether to retain Ben Stokes, their most expensive player. While Stokes had limited participation in IPL 2023, CSK may still choose to invest in him, unless he opts out. Alongside Stokes, Pretorius and Dube should be retained as pace all-rounders.


CSK has limited options for primary spinners, with Maheesh Theekshana and Prashant Solanki being the likely choices for retention. Their focus has been on spin-bowling all-rounders.


The primary question in the pace department is whether to retain Kyle Jamieson or his replacement, Sisanda Magala. CSK may opt to not retain either and seek a new overseas player in the auction. Thanks to Ambati Rayudu’s salary void, CSK will have the budget for such acquisitions. Other than this decision, CSK’s pace bowling looks solid, led by Deepak Chahar.

Predicted Retained Squad List for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2024: Batters: Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shaikh Rasheed & Subhranshu Senapati

Wicket-Keepers: Devon Conway (o) & MS Dhoni (c)

All-rounders: Ajay Mandal, Ben Stokes (o), Bhagath Varma, Dwaine Pretorius (o), Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Nishant Sindhu, Ravindra Jadeja & Shivam Dube

Bowlers: Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana (o), Matheesha Pathirana (o), Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh & Tushar Deshpande

CSK has a history of minimal changes, so we anticipate only two alterations in the retained squad compared to 2023. With an increased purse in 2024, CSK will have the resources to make a few key acquisitions in the upcoming auction.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.