Shreyanka Patil Makes History as the First Indian in Women’s Caribbean Premier League

In a historic move, 20-year-old Indian off-spinner Shreyanka Patil has broken new ground by becoming the first Indian cricketer to feature in the Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL). The Guyana Amazon Warriors have enlisted her for the upcoming season, set to unfold from August 31 to September 10.

Patil’s journey to the WCPL:

It was paved with stellar performances in the Women’s Emerging Asia Cup held in Hong Kong. She made her mark by securing nine crucial wickets in just two games for India A, ultimately earning the Player of the Tournament title. Notably, India clinched the Women’s Emerging Asia Cup championship with a convincing 31-run victory over Bangladesh A in the final match.

Prior to this achievement, Patil showcased her talent as one of the standout performers for the Royal Challengers Bangalore Women (RCB-W) during the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL), despite RCB-W’s less-than-ideal tournament run. In seven matches, the young prodigy claimed six wickets with an average of 32.00 and an economy rate of 9.84 for RCB.

It’s worth noting that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) permits women cricketers to participate in overseas leagues, a trend embraced by many top players including India’s skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, vice-captain Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and Richa Ghosh, who have previously graced franchise leagues such as the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) in Australia and The Hundred in England.

The Women’s Caribbean Premier League boasts a lineup of three teams: Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, and the Trinbago Knight Riders. This competition will feature prominent West Indies players such as Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, and Stafanie Taylor. Additionally, it will showcase talents from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and now, India.

Notable international cricketers like Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, and Fran Jonas from New Zealand will be part of the tournament. Joining them will be Laura Harris and Amanda-Jade Wellington, both hailing from Australia. South African cricketers Dane van Niekerk, Mignon de Preez, and Shabnim Ismail are set to share the stage in this exciting league. Shreyanka Patil’s inclusion adds an intriguing layer to this already star-studded event.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.